# ORGANIZATIONAL/ORIENTATION SESSION WINNEBAGO COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS TUESDAY, APRIL 15, 2014

County Clerk Sue Ertmer called the meeting to order at 6:00 P.M. in the Supervisors' Room, Fourth Floor, Courthouse, Oshkosh, Wisconsin.

The meeting was opened with the Pledge of Allegiance and an Invocation by Supervisor Locke.

Present: Konetzke, Barker, Harpt, Eisen, Ramos, Kiel, Roh, Smith, Widener, Hamblin, Albrecht, Gabert, Schellenger, Thompson, Olson, Gilson, Hardy, Wingren, Lautenschlager, Norton, Warnke, Robl, Singstock, Neubauer, Turner, Locke, Hegg, Finch, Youngquist, Farrey, Rasmussen, Keller, Egan, Ellis, Snider and Kriescher.

County Clerk, Sue Ertmer, explained the contents of the County Board packets.

### **OATH OF OFFICE**

Judges Karen Seifert and Daniel Bissett administered the oath of office to the supervisors.

Ms. Ertmer addressed Resolution 001-42014 and after conferring with Corporation Council, stated that this resolution regarding amending Section 3.3 of the Rules of the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors needed to be brought forward before the vote for County Board Chairman or Vice Chairman.

RESOLUTION 001-42014: Amend Section 3.3 of the Rules of the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors
Submitted by:

Paul Eisen, District #4

Motion by Supervisor Eisen and seconded to adopt Resolution 001-42014. Ayes: 9 – Eisen, Ramos, Smith, Hamblin, Thompson, Gilson, Norton, Neubauer and Locke; Nays: 26; Abstain: 1 – Hardy; Absent: 0. LOST.

#### **PUBLIC HEARING**

No one addressed the Board.

#### **ELECTION OF COUNTY BOARD CHAIRMAN**

Motion by Supervisor Robl and seconded by Supervisor Ellis to nominate Supervisor David Albrecht as Chairman. There being no other nominations for Chairman, the nominations were closed. All in favor of electing Supervisor Albrecht as County Board Chairman signify by voting Aye. CARRIED BY VOICE VOTE.

Chairman Albrecht thanked the Board for re-electing him as their Chairman.

# **ELECTION OF COUNTY BOARD VICE CHAIRMAN**

Chairman Albrecht called for nominations for Vice Chairman.

Motion by Supervisor Egan and seconded by Supervisor Gilson to nominate Supervisor Robert Warnke as Vice Chairman.

Motion by Supervisor Wingren and seconded by Supervisor Kriescher to nominate Supervisor Bill Roh for Vice Chairman.

Motion by Supervisor Norton and seconded to nominate Supervisor Shiloh Ramos for Vice Chairman.

Paper ballots were delivered to the Board for them to cast their vote for Vice Chairman. The ballots were then collected and counted. Supervisor Warnke received 9 votes, Supervisor Roh received 22 votes, and Supervisor Ramos received 5 votes. Supervisor Roh was then seated as the Vice Chairman. He thanked Supervisor Bill Wingren for his support and to the Board for electing him as their Vice Chairman.

## **APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES**

Chairman Albrecht appointed himself and the following people to the Committee on Committees: Supervisors Maribeth Gabbert, Bill Roh, Ken Robl and Tom Widener. They will meet at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, April 17 in the Orrin King Building conference room to make committee assignments.

## **COUNTY EXECUTIVE REPORT**

Executive Harris congratulated the supervisors on their election to the Board and recognized and welcomed the three new supervisors: District 3 – Christian Harpt, District 13 – Koby Schellenger and District 32 – Robert Keller. He commented that many of the Supervisors are also on City Councils or Town Boards.

## **ORIENTATION SESSION**

Chairman Albrecht asked to change the agenda by moving Patty Francour, Information Systems Director to the top of the list. CARRIED BY VOICE VOTE.

Patty Francour, Information Systems Director, explained to the Board that they have the option of setting up a county e-mail account. Forms and information were distributed to the Board. Mrs. Francour discussed benefits for signing up for the county's e-mail.

John Bodnar, Winnebago County Corporation Counsel, addressed the laws regarding open records request involving e-mails. Mr. Bodnar discussed his role as the attorney for Winnebago County in all civil matters. Mr. Bodnar told the Board that if they have any legal questions about their role as a county board supervisor they should contact him.

Mr. Bodnar distributed copies of the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors Ethics Handbook and went over some of the more common situations that county supervisors could be involved in. He stated that if they have any questions or concerns about a particular situation, they should contact his office for advice.

Explanation of County Board Room Voting System, County Board Chairman Albrecht asked surrounding supervisors to assist the new supervisors with the voting system.

Julie Barthels, Deputy County Clerk, explained the process for recording per diems, mileage and expenses. She noted that there is an electronic per diem sheet available from the County Clerk's office. Mrs. Barthels explained the difference between assigned and un-assigned meetings and the need to request to attend meetings or conferences.

Michael Collard, Human Resource Director, explained what forms and paperwork the newly elected supervisors need to file in the Payroll Department before they can be paid their per diem or receive reimbursement for expenses. Mr. Collard also explained the county's health insurance and dental plans, which are available to the supervisors if they choose to participate. Forms are available from the Human Resources Department.

## **RESOLUTIONS AND ORDINANCES**

RESOLUTION 002-42014: Amend Section 24.7 of the Rules of the Winnebago County

**Board of Supervisors** 

Submitted by:

Paul Eisen, District #4

Motion by Supervisor Eisen and seconded by Supervisor Finch to amend this rule. Ayes: 4 – Konetzke, Eisen, Albrecht and Finch; Nays: 29; Abstain: 0; Absent: 3 – Ramos, Hamblin and Snider. LOST.

RESOLUTION 003-42014: Amend Section 3.10 of the Rules of the Winnebago County Board of

Supervisors

Submitted by:

Michael Norton, District #20

Motion by Supervisor Norton and seconded by Supervisor Eisen to amend this rule. Ayes: 7 – Eisen, Schellenger, Hardy, Norton, Robl, Keller, and Ellis; Nays: 26; Abstain: 0; Absent: 3 – Ramos, Hamblin and Snider. LOST.

RESOLUTION 004-42014: Adopt the Rules of the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors

Submitted by:

David Albrecht, District 11

Motion by Supervisor Albrecht and seconded by Supervisor Farrey to adopt. Ayes: 32; Nays: 1 – Harpt; Abstain – 0; Absent: 3 – Ramos, Hamblin and Snider.

Motion by Supervisor Robl and seconded to adjourn until 6:00 p.m. on Tuesday, April 22, 2014. CARRIED BY VOICE VOTE. The meeting was adjourned at approximately 8:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Julie Barthels Winnebago County Deputy Clerk

State of Wisconsin) County of Winnebago) ss

I, Julie Barthels, do hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of the Journal of the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors for their organizational meeting held April 15, 2014.

Julie Barthels
Winnebago County Deputy Clerk